The Texas Bohemian

Word artist. Jack of all Trades.

Proof!

I told you, didn’t I?  Stupid.  Me stupid.  I used to believe this stuff…

Headline:

Famed pastor predicts imminent catastrophe

Who was this “famed” pastor?  None other than David Wilkerson, my one time hero.  It is true Ol’ Dave fell from my sky quite some years ago but I once hailed Wilkerson as a great minister.  Stupid me.  I went to one of his crusades in Austin in ’75 I think.

I am not really sure I was so gullible as to believe the kind of crap Wilkerson is babbling.  I like to think I wasn’t.  I think it might have been this kind of junk that kept pushing me out.  I mean come on, how many times can a religious nut predict plagues that don’t come until people figure out the whole thing is screwy?

Wilkerson said the “Holy Spirit” told him.  Yeah, right.  I tell you, if the “Holy Spirit” don’t know any better than to use a nutcase like David Wilkerson the “Holy Spirit” ain’t very smart.  Besides, why warn us anyway?  Like anybody is going to listen?

Remember Y2K?  Only the Christians and the paranoids were worried.  I was over in Nacogdoches nice and snockered laughing at the goofies all hunkered down with their food supplies.  My religious sister’s family were hunkered down.  They were giving survival food away for years.

How about “88 Reasons The Lord Will Return in ’88”?  Way back then some nutcase wrote a little book with this title and Christians freaked out.  I didn’t but a lot of my friends worried.

You know it seems interesting that religious people, like Limbaugh, are pulling out all the stops now that George is gone.  They really don’t like liberals, do they?  The worst stuff in American history happened during George’s reign but the “Holy Spirit” sat back and watched.  Where was the 9/11 prediction?  Where was the Katrina or Rita or Ike predictions?  Now THAT would have been helpful.

Know what I think?  I think the religious people–religious talking heads–are having a huge case of sour grapes and the ol’ “Holy Spirit” is being pulled out of the closet (prayer closet, that is) and given credit for wishful thinking.

Wake up people!

Ahh, more wishful thinking.

March 9, 2009 - Posted by | Religion | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. You know it seems interesting that religious people, like Limbaugh, are pulling out all the stops now that George is gone.

    I may be wrong, but I’m pretty sure that Limbaugh isn’t a religious person.

    How about “88 reasons The Lord Will Return in ’88”?

    I feel that I should mention that many of us Christians aren’t to keen on the date setting. No one will know when the Lord will return, except God himself. He said so himself:

    “But concerning that day and hour, no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only. Matthew 24.36 [ESV]

    Comment by Tom | March 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

