The Texas Bohemian

Word artist. Jack of all Trades.

What Counts isn’t change.

Since my wife doesn’t read my blog (except when I share it with her) I can run with this….

Going to let it all hang out today. You might want to cover your eyes.

Monday is our 30th anniversary. My wife is the love of my life, the apple in my eye, the reason I’ve continued breathing for thirty of my fifty years.

The morning of our anniversary will be spent in the hospital. My mom is having her left kidney removed–serious stuff.

Some time in the afternoon I will give her a gift. It won’t be what I would like to give.

Today I dug the change box out and rolled up some coins. Then I visited the pawn shop. Now I have close to a hundred bucks but, alas, my first choice for our anniversary runs $200 and up. So at this point I don’t even know what I will find.

I won’t have the money to take her to dinner.

We’ve been broke before. We’re not exactly broke now but since I’m screwed up, too old, too long unemployed I couldn’t find a minimum-wage job. I keep the kids. So, all our income is hers. Being me sucks, sometimes.

I know whatever I give her she’ll appreciate. She’ll understand. I won’t feel any better. But it ain’t about what I feel anyways, it’s about my beloved and the greatest gift anyone could ever give, a lifetime of loving. That is a gift that is beyond value. It’s the gift she gives to me and the gift I give to her.

Whatever I put in the little wrapped box, this is what counts.

June 19, 2008 - Posted by | Blather | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. My husband and I never exchange gifts – just wanted you to know that you are not the only one that doesn’t celebrate the way everyone would make it seem – the candlelit dinner, blah blah blah. Why does the token of love have to look the same and why is it monetary? My husband has never been a gift giver and after a lot of immature years full of frustration – my birthday, valentine’s day, mother’s day, Christmas – I said NO MORE GIFTS. It is too hard for him – and done only out of obligation.
    I am just saying – what is purchased is never what someone that means the world to you truly deserves. The money doesn’t matter.

    Let me just go a little feminist on you about the income all being hers – I work from home PT – a low paying job for sure and keep the rest of the house in good running order. My husband brings home a check each week and both of our incomes are collectively ours. I am not sure if these are your feelings or your wife’s but someone working at home raising kids could charge for all of those services. If I had a girlfriend saying that the household income was her husband’s – I wouldn’t really let that slide – so I’m not going to with you either. I know if you’re like us after the bills are paid there isn’t much available – but it is still collectively yours.

    Comment by jewlsntexas | June 21, 2008


Leave a Reply

