The Texas Bohemian

Word artist. Jack of all Trades.

The Evening of the First Day

The day is about over.  In a few minutes I’ll slip into my easy chair and catch an hour or so of some TV show.  It’s been a pretty good day.  My little ones have had the usual run-ins but I put each of them to bed with hugs and kisses and “I love you’s.”  My wife is lounging in her chair putting off doing some work she brought home from her office.  My oldest is zoning on the couch.

School was good, today.  My new program is working pretty well.  The nice thing about homeschool is that when something works all ya have to do is fix it.  After school we went outside and dug a while on our pond.  It’s an on-going project.  No backhoes, just backs and hoes, and shovels, and a cultivator to break up the hard clay dirt.  It’ll take a couple months to get the thing dug.

Discussion on the Sacred Cow-Tippers today has been about prayer.  Does God answer?  I blabbered on about my skepticism.  Some wrote to describe miraculous events in their family.  Why does God do stuff like that for a few and not for so many?  Why heal a handful and let millions of children die in poverty?  I don’t know.  I just have a problem with the idea of a selective God.  To doubt stories of healings is to question the veracity of the stories or the people making them.  That’s not fair or kind.  Spiritual things DO happen.  But with each story of special touches I go to bed and whisper to God, “I love you…. but I sure don’t get it!”  And I don’t.

I do NOT believe it has anything to do with a particular level of faith.  None whatsoever.  Maybe God does what he does for some people simply because they have a mission only he and they know about.  Maybe there are angels–spirits from God–who are not God but who on occasion pass on healing as Jesus did when he was here.  I just don’t know.  I say that a lot.

Of course, the point is we should not try.  All we should do is everything we know to do.  I’ll never tell anybody not to pray.  I pray, of a fashion.  I do not ask for things and rarely if ever for healing.  My prayers are almost always prayers of thanks and “I love you’s.”  I don’t doubt God answers or even heals.  I’ve just not seen it and I don’t ask for myself.  Don’t really feel like I should.

The easy chair calls.  Star Trek, Nextgen is on scifi!  Cool.

Later.

Ted

June 3, 2008 - Posted by | Blather

1 Comment »

  1. >>I just have a problem with the idea of a selective God.

    I think that just about sums it up. All of those stories sure make it sound like God has favorites – or that we’re not doing something right.

    Comment by jewlsntexas | June 3, 2008


Leave a Reply

